Jersey Girl: The Brittany Blake Interview

Interviewer: Zep the Bear

Brittany Blake

Brittany Blake is a 25-year old wrestler from Blackwood, NJ. During her young career, the 5’2″ scrapper has competed in Combat Zone Wrestling (CZW), Maryland Championship Wrestling (MCW), and Women Superstars Uncensored (WSU), as well as a number of other promotions.

Equal parts talented and charismatic, Blake looks to be a player in the coming years.

brit

The Interview

Tell me a little about your background?

I’m a born and raised Jersey girl based out of South Jersey.

I was a misfit growing up. Go figure, right? I feel like that led me to discover all of my creative outlets, though I never saw it as a negative.

I’m currently a Radio/TV/Film and Journalism student.

Outside of work, school, and wrestling, I spend my time working on cosplays, reading, and playing video games. (Zero Time Dilemma has been awesome so far!)

How did you discover wrestling? What about it intrigued you?

My brother and I were kids when out parents split. Our dad always had us on Sundays and Mondays. So somewhere along the line we started watching the Monday Night Wars and PPVs (pay-per-view events) with him. Eventually, we started watching it on our own.

The Attitude Era is what sucked me in. Eddie Guerrero, Stone Cold, and Edge & Christian were some of my favorites, but Team Xtreme were the ones that made me realize this was something I wanted to do.

…I went back to training on one leg until the broken one healed.

Describe your training?

I started training in CZW in 2013. It was rough. It was four days a week and, once summer hit, beyond hot.

At the time I was basically the only female training, other than when some of the main roster girls would come down to the dojo. One thing I was extremely grateful for was that the guys didn’t treat me like a “girl.” They treated me like every other trainee there and beat the crap out of me.

At the time, the trainers were DJ Hyde, Drew Gulak, and Rory Gulak. Christina von Eerie helped me a lot when I was just starting out.

I had a major setback early on. A few months into training I broke my leg, which was both a blessing and a curse. As much as I hated being out of the ring and feeling like I was being left behind while my peers were continuing to get better, it motivated me more than anything. I’m naturally an impatient person, so combined with the added motivation, as soon as I felt ready, I began training on one leg until the broken one healed.

In what was basically a squash match, I debuted in February 2014 at a WSU Secret Show against Alpha Female, but honestly, I consider my first match to be against Kimber Lee at Xcite in April 2014.

What do you find to be the most fun aspect of professional wrestling?

There are so many fun aspects of wrestling that easily outweigh the bad. I absolutely love traveling and getting to be a part of a variety of shows where I wrestle a some extremely talented individuals. I’ve meet lifelong friends and people I love through wrestling. However, I think my favorite part is seeing/meeting fans, especially kids. Whether they’re cheering or booing me, getting to see that reaction from them makes my day because I remember being where they are and how wrestling made me feel as a kid.

brit4

Photo Credit: Chris Grasso

You mentioned earlier that you are studying Journalism. Tell me a bit about your writing?

Writing has always been one of my biggest creative outlets. When I was a kid I would staple pieces of paper together and make “books.” Ha! However, that turned into me writing for my school’s newspaper from grades 7-12. I also started writing short stories and (attempts at) novels when I was about 15.

I’m currently a student for Radio/TV/Film production and Journalism, and I can easily say the writing courses have been my favorites. My schooling has taken me out of my element by requiring me to write screenplays and blogging, both of which I ended up really liking. After I graduate in the spring, I’m hoping to find a job that involves writing and sharing my stories with the world.

You mentioned cosplay earlier. Cosplay has grown incredibly popular in the last few years. Why do you think it appeals to people?

I think cosplay appeals to people for different reasons. For me, it was another creative outlet  because I started it as LARPing (though I didn’t know it had a name at the time.) with friends in middle school. As I got into high school, I would hear about comic book and anime conventions. I always wanted to go but had no idea how to start cosplaying, nor did I really have a lot of friends that were into comics and anime. The few friends I had didn’t exactly have the financial means to do so. I started cosplaying just for Halloween and would make my own.

It wasn’t until after high school that I started going to conventions. At the time conventions weren’t very popular. Not everyone cosplayed. There weren’t nearly as many females at conventions.

On one hand, people might find it more appealing now because it’s extremely accessible. There are so many means to find quality costumes and supplies, along with a ton of ways to get interested. With all the movies that have been released over the past few years, it’s opened up the community to new fans.

brit3

You have a really cool punk rock vibe. What are you listening to these days?

Though punk is easily my favorite genre, I listen to a variety of music ranging from punk, pop, hip-hop,  and j-rock, to whatever catches my attention. This past week has consisted of a lot of The Misfits, The Used, Bouncing Souls, Pretty Reckless, and the RWBY soundtrack. I’m also a huge fan of 90s pop. I listen to it pretty much daily.

I feel like Brittany Blake has the potential to be one of the top female talents on the independents in the next few years. She is so talented and still so new and learning. She is only going to get better. –John Thorne (AIW co-owner)

You are going to be working Girls Night Out 18 on August 6 for Absolute Intense Wrestling in Cleveland. What is it like working for AIW?

I really enjoy working for AIW. They have such a talented locker room and the fans are awesome. Overall, the whole AIW environment is a lot of fun.

It’s funny to think back to the time before I started working for them because I was basically told I never would, then I was given a chance. I took that chance and ran with it. This will be my second Girls Night Out. Hopefully, I’ll be on a lot more in the future.

You and Angeldust will be facing Ray Lyn and Marti Belle that night. Any words for your opponents?

This should definitely be an interesting match since Angeldust was my opponent at the last GNO. And if I remember correctly, Ray Lyn cost me my first match at AIW against Veda Scott. Her hand seems to be all healed up now. Payback’s a bitch.

Come see Brittany Blake at AIW’s Girls Night Out 18 in Cleveland on August 6. Tickets for the event can be purchased here.

brit5

More Wrestling!

Interview: Mike Quackenbush

Interview: Rionne Fujiwara

Interview: Derek Direction

AIW: Absolution XI (2016)

AIW: What’s in the Basement, Klopek?

9 thoughts on “Jersey Girl: The Brittany Blake Interview

Leave a Reply

