Jinx: An Interview with the Bloody Adorable Brawler

Jinx: An Interview with the Bloody Adorable Brawler

jinx

Name: Jinx

Age: 21

Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Profession: Professional Wrestler

Years involved: Trained for about a year, and been doing real shows about two months.

Favorite wrestler(s): It’s a toss-up between Tajiri, Mick Foley, and Rick Rude

When were you bit by the wrestling bug? 

I was probably about 10-years-old the first time I watched wrestling. It was in the age of YouTube just starting off and they hardly checked for copyright at all, so basically, all wrestling ever was available to a young homeschooled me. I don’t know how I started watching, but I know what originally hooked me was ECW-type wrestling and more-story-than-moves. I still feel like that’s what I love most about wrestling to this day.

Were you an athlete prior to wrestling? If so, what was the transition like?

As a young girl, I did dance and gymnastics but as I grew older I was always the one that hid during gym class and got laughed at trying to do sports. About a year before I started training, I got into circus arts like aerial hoop and pole dance, and that’s really what gave me my body strength and confidence to give wrestling a shot. There’s really no way to transition into wrestling though, you just dive in… it’s like nothing else in the world.

In what school/dojo do you train? Who is/are your trainer(s)?

I trained at the Iron City Wrestling Academy which is IWC’s school. My trainers were Chris LeRusso and Andrew Palace, who are two of the greatest dudes to possibly learn from. But (the trainees) were also incredibly lucky that so many different wrestlers from different walks of the business would come through and give us advice.

Wrestling isn’t for everyone. Many, many hopefuls are weeded out very quickly in initial training sessions. What motivated you to persevere through those challenging early days?

It was all thanks to my support system, really. The other people that I trained with and my trainers very quickly became family to me, and I couldn’t just leave them. None of my class gave up, and I’m really proud of all of us for that.

What is the best piece of advice you have gotten from another worker?

It’s hard to pinpoint one piece of advice because there are so many things I’ve been told about so many different aspects of the business, but being taught right off the bat how important it is to stay humble and never stop learning is something I keep close to me. No wrestler ever reaches a point where they can’t improve, but I think what harms a lot of people (not even just in wrestling, honestly. We all know these people in real life too.) is they believe they have nothing left to learn and don’t have to train or improve anymore. That’s never ever the case.

You made your debut against Samantha Heights for the International Wrestling Cartel (IWC) at their Proving Ground 6 event. You defeated a far more experienced opponent. What were your feelings going into the match?

Hahaha!! I was TERRIFIED. It’s natural for everyone to get nervous, of course, but I was on some next level fear. But Samantha is fantastic, it was so much fun and no one died…which is good. I was very honored to have that be my very first opportunity in a wrestling ring with fans watching.

What is something you learned that night for which training couldn’t prepare you?

What surprised me the most is how fast time goes. Doing practice matches in a training class can never prepare you for that different kind of energy you get being in front of people that are just excited to see you in that ring, whatever you’re doing. It all flows so much different than you could ever prepare for.

There is more to you than just being a wrestler. For instance, you have some terrific ink. What do tattoos mean to you?

I started getting tattoos the day after I turned 18! This is actually the first year I didn’t get tattooed for my birthday because I was so scared of how much it would suck to wrestle with a healing tattoo. To me, tattoos are telling a story of who you are and making yourself art. Getting tattoos gave me such a confidence boost and a love for my own skin.

You and I have a shared loved for the immensely popular “S-Town” podcast. What about the show captured your imagination?

I am a huuggeee true crime buff! I could talk about it forever. What I love most about true crime and stories like “S-Town” or “Serial” is the psychology behind it. I consider myself a very emotionally intelligent person. I love learning about mental health and what makes people do certain things, like killing or starting a cult. True crime is definitely my second passion right behind wrestling.

What are some of your other favorite podcasts?

The first podcast I started to legit listen to was “Last Podcast On The Left.” It can be sort of offensive to the uninitiated, but it’s hilarious and very informative. Of course “Serial” is another great listen and what first got us talking! But essentially I listen to all the true crime podcasts possible. Wrestling-wise, we all gotta love “Talk Is Jericho.”

You are only a few months into the business. What do you hope to accomplish by your first year anniversary in wrestling?

Just to get as much experience as possible! My main goal right now is to just continue to learn to be in front of a crowd and hone in on my craft.

Why should fans pay attention to Jinx?

Because she’s just getting started with only great things to come! I like to think I bring a different outlook to the crazy wrestler (character). I’m bright with a lot of energy—and I still have so much more to learn. I’m so excited to keep growing my character and my in-ring skills to tell a really great story to a crowd through pro wrestling.

Jinx can be found on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Show her lots of love.

Click HERE for information about the Iron City Wrestling Academy.

-Ted Zep

More Wrestling

JaXon Argos: An Interview with the “Rookie of the Year”

The Five Faces of Sam Panico

NXT Cleveland (3/3/17)

IWC Reloaded 3.0 (2017)

Wrestle Bowl XI (2017)

9 thoughts on “Jinx: An Interview with the Bloody Adorable Brawler

Leave a Reply

