A Chat with Uno Lady (2018)

uno
Photo Credit: Diana Hlywiak

Simply described, Uno Lady is a one-woman choir. Using a mixer and loop pedals to layer her vocals, Uno Lady creates music that is vulnerable, affecting and thick with atmosphere. Her sound is sensitive and thrilling yet melancholy and oblique. She is a unique voice, even amongst the unique voices of the Cleveland music scene. I recently interviewed the singer in anticipation of her upcoming gig in Akron at EarthQuaker Day 2018.

Name? Christa Ebert

Age? Under 80

City of birth? Cleveland, OH

Current city of residence? Cleveland, I’m a 5th generation Clevelander.

Do you come from a musical family?

No, not really, some of my family appreciates music, but there aren’t other musicians or singers that I grew up with. A direct quote from my stepdad is “I hate music.”

When did you start singing? (Are you classically trained?)

I have been serenading anything that would listen for as long as I can remember. The first song I have a memory of writing was about the moon at age 6. I sang in choirs in school and church but was never classically trained. I took a handful of sight-reading and voice lessons for the first time, just a few years ago.

How do you describe the sound and lyrical content of your work?

Intense!

You use a variety of EarthQuaker Devices pedals in your recording sessions and live shows. How have those units defined your sound? 

The pedals have expanded my sound immensely. I feel like my sound library is limitless and I am constantly discovering new noises to explore. I use Disaster Transport Sr. in every song. I love the sound of its delay and reverb and that I am able to control the intensity.  Afterneath’s reverb is creepy in the best way, like a witch in a cave. I use that in most songs. Bows is another pedal that I utilize often. Its preamp helps my main vocals stand out from the rest of the layers I create.

Describe “Uno Lady?” Is she simply a banner to perform under or more of a character/point of view?

Uno Lady is me but fancier. It is all an excuse to buy and wear dresses to punk shows.

What are the benefits and drawbacks of being a solo act?

Benefits of working alone include making my own schedule, timelines, not having to get others approval, and creating a sound that is truly unique. Cons include not having someone to bounce ideas off of, having to make the entire composition alone, and not have the creative fusion and new ideas that come with collaboration.

What type of music do you listen to in your personal life?

I grew up listening to a lot of oldies and that is still a staple in my rotation: girl groups, Motown, Doo Wop, soul, psychedelic rock, etc. I love garage, surf, punk, post-punk, new wave, alternative and experimental rock too. I’m not that good at talking shop about genres. If it sounds good, I’ll listen to it. I am typically not a fan of songs that use a lot of Autotune nor nu-metal.

You will be performing at the EarthQuaker Day festival on August 4 in Akron. Besides yourself, who are you looking forward to checking out?

I’m super stoked about the whole lineup!  This Moment in Black History are my dudes and are amazing. Lisa Belladonna is a musical goddess and I am captivated by her skills every time I see her play. I’m stoked to see Houseguest perform again. This will be my first time seeing Shivering Timbers and The Man I Fell In Love With but I am looking forward to it.

Uno Lady will be performing at EarthQuaker Day 2018 in Akron on Saturday, August 4. Held annually by noted effects pedal manufacturer EarthQuaker Devices, it is a day filled with music, clinics, vendors and tons of other activities. Uno Lady takes the stage at 1 PM. Also on the bill: This Moment in Black History, Houseguest, The Man I Fell In Love With, Shivering Timbers and Lisa Bella Donna. It’s a stacked lineup. Clinics start at 11 AM and music starts at 1 PM. The event will be held on the EarthQuaker Devices compound located at 350 W. Bowery St., Akron, OH. 44307.

Visit UnoLady.com for more information about her work and upcoming appearances.

Click HERE for the full rundown about EarthQuaker Day 2018.

To learn more about EarthQuaker Devices, follow this link.

More Music Coverage

PorchRokr Music & Arts Festival (2017)

Floco Torres: Live in Akron (2016)

Ankle Grease/The Baker’s Basement/Ryan McCarthy-Live in Concert (2017)

Goodnight Brooklyn: The Story of Death By Audio (2016)

Bones of the Boulevard: An Interview with Jim Ballard (2018)

One thought on “A Chat with Uno Lady (2018)

Leave a comment